Many people are becoming aware of gluten-free products but are not always sure of what that means. Here is a breif summary.

Gluten is a protein found in many commonly used grains such as wheat, rye, spelt, kamut, and barley.

Oats are in a grey area because although they do not contain gluten, it is often contaminated with glutinous grains.

Why is gluten bad? It’s not to most people. However, people who have celieac disease are destroying thier guts by eating gluten containing foods. The good news is, when it’s completely avoided, their guts do heal up. Naturopaths can help speed this process up and deal with the associated complications from having celiac disease.

What grains are safe for celiac patients? Buckwheat, amaranth, rice, soy, millet (in the grey area with oats), corn, and quinoa.

An important note: if you are experiencing gastrointestinal problems, try to get a celiac test done before removing gluten from your diet. Once it’s removed, the intestines start to heal and the tests can come back inconclusive or negative.

This is only important if a confirmed diagnosis is important to you. If you’ve removed gluten, and you are improving. Don’t let a negative diagnosis deter your new dietary efforts. Your body is ultimately the final word.

Yours in Health,

Kerri

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *